Manhattan Banner
Jasper Club
Article Image
Courtesy: Vincent Dusovic

Manhattan Announces 2017 Schedule

Courtesy: Manhattan Athletic Department
Release: 06/02/2017
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
 
Related Links
Schedule

Riverdale, NY –
 Manhattan College Head Men's Soccer Coach Jorden Scott has announced the program's 2017 schedule.

"We are excited to announce another very well balanced and challenging schedule that will set us up nicely for the MAAC," said Scott. "Playing against some of the best teams and coaches in the area will aid us in our pursuit of a conference title."


The Jaspers return 12 letterwinners, including seven that started at least 10 games a year ago.
Leading the way is the quartet of senior 
Joe Hulme (Bolton, Lancashire, England / St. Joseph's Roman Catholic), classmate Luke Greaves (Bolton, Lancashire, England / Accrington & Rossendale), senior Jose Meza (Clifton, NJ / Paramus Catholic) and sophomore Leonard Sohn (Richmond Hill, Ontario / Bill Crothers Secondary) - all of whom started all 17 matches a year ago.

* Manhattan will be celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Men's Soccer program this year and will hold a special Alumni Day game on Saturday, September 30 at 11:00 am before hosting Marist at 2:00 pm. For more information on the day's activities please click HERE.

*The Jaspers will begin their seven-game non-conference slate at home against Patriot League member Navy on Friday, August 25 at 7:00 pm.

* Highlighting the non-conference slated will be matches against 2016 NCAA Tournament participants St. Francis Brooklyn and Fordham. Manhattan will host the reigning NEC Champion Terriers on Sunday, September 16 at 2:00 pm before making the short trek to the Bronx on Wednesday, September 20 to face the defending A-10 Champion Rams at 7:00 pm. 

*Manhattan will play its first road game against Fairleigh Dickinson University on Monday, August 28 at 7:00 pm.

*The Jaspers will also host Sacred Heart (Thursday, August 31) and VMI (Wednesday, September 13) while traveling to the City of Brotherly Love to square off with Saint Joseph's (Wednesday, September 6).

*During MAAC action, Manhattan will host Marist (Saturday, September 30), Monmouth (Saturday, October 7), Quinnipiac (Saturday, October 14), Fairfield (Wednesday, October 18) and Niagara (Wednesday, October 25).

*The Jaspers' five road matches will consist of Iona (Wednesday, September 27), Saint Peters (Wednesday, October 4), Rider (Wednesday, October 11), Siena (Saturday, October 21) and Canisius (Wednesday, November 1).

* The First Round of the MAAC Tournament will be contested on Sunday, November 5 at the home fields of the No. 3 and No. 4 seeds.

* MAAC Semifinal and Final play will take play on Thursday, November 9 and Sunday, November 12 at the home of the top seed.

Follow Manhattan Jaspers Athletics on Twitter, go to twitter.com/GoJaspers or visit the Facebook fan page.

Live Events on Jasper Sports Network
Mobile Apps
stop