Manhattan Banner
Jasper Club
Article Image
Courtesy: None
The Varsity Four placed fifth

Varsity Four Paces Manhattan At MAAC Championship

Courtesy: Manhattan Athletic Department
Release: 05/12/2017
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Related Links

West Windsor, NJ - Fueled by a fifth-place finish in the Varsity Four, the Manhattan Rowing Team took ninth at the 2017 MAAC Championship.

The Varsity Four tandem of junior cox Amy Sniffen (Bedford Hills, NY / Kennedy Catholic), freshman Allison Eichhorn (Moorestown, NJ / Moorestown), classmate Elizabeth McCabe (Alexandria, VA / Bishop Ireton), freshman Meredith Domaleski (Cutchogue, NY / Bishop McGann Mercy) and classmate Shannon Forty (Westford, MA / Westford Academy) took fifth in the grand final with a mark of 8:59.137 after clocking the third-fastest mark in the prelims.

In the First Varsity Eight, the team of Scarlett Salinas (Sr., Miami, FL / Robert Morgan), Rebecca Arcomano (So., Saugerites, NY / John A. Coleman Catholic), Lorraine Piccorelli (Sr., Brookfield, CT / Brookfield), Kathryn Watroba (Sr., Salt Point, NY / Our Lady of Lourdes), Grace Murphy (So., Burlington, MA / Burlington), Phoebe Costello (So., North Haven, CT / Sacred Heart Academy), Maggie Tebbetts (Jr., North Haven, CT / North Haven), Jillian Rider (So., Buffalo, NY / Iroquois) and Lisa Dominguez (So., Santo Domingo, DR / Bronx Leadership) took ninth with a time of 08:26.015 while besting local-rival Iona by almost 40 seconds.

The Second Varsity Eight squad of Isabel Shirron (Fr., Alexandria, VA / Bishop Ireton), Shannon Colford (Fr., Epping, NH/ St. Thomas Aquinas), Jaclyn Leighton (Fr., Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania / Holy Redeemer), Zoe Nikolopoulos (Fr.,Long Valley, NJ / West Morris Central), Naomi Uy (Fr.), Jeanette Burke (So., Libertyville, IL / Libertyville), Kate Sexton (Fr., Wrentham, MA / King Philip Regional), Leah McGovern (So., Floral Park, NY / Our Lady of Victory) and Erin McWilliams (Fr.) also took ninth, clocking a 08:43.438.

Jacksonville scored a total of 60 points claim the title followed by Marist (54 points), Canisius (45 points), Fairfield (42 points), Drake (34 points), Robert Morris (26 points), Sacred Heart (23 points), Iona (18 points, Manhattan (16 points and Stetson (11 points). 

Live Events on Jasper Sports Network
Mobile Apps